

St. Mary's County Government

AGRICULTURE, SEAFOOD, AND FORESTRY BOARD

P.O. Box 653, 23115 Leonard Hall Drive, Leonardtown, MD 20650 •TELEPHONE 301-475-4200 ext. 1402 • Fax 301-475-4414

> John K. Parlett, Jr., Chairman David Paulk, Vice Chairman

Melissa Alton James "Bubby" Norris Phil Dorsey Adam Dyson Michael Sirk James Spence

James Moore Joseph Wood

Agricultural, Seafood, and Forestry Board August 8, 2013 Meeting Minutes

Call to Order

The Agricultural, Seafood, and Forestry Board meeting was held in the Conference Room of the Agriculture Services Center. Members in attendance were John Parlett, David Paulk, Adam Dyson, James Moore, Michael Sirk, James Spence, and Joseph Wood. Also present was Bruce Young from the St. Mary's Soil Conservation District; Ben Beale from the Maryland Cooperative Extension Service; Phil Shire from the St. Mary's County Land Use and Growth Management and Lisa Ledman from the St. Mary's County's Economic Development Department. Guest attendees included Richard Hayden, Farm Bureau Board of Directors. Members not in attendance included Melissa Alton, Phil Dorsey, and James Norris. The meeting was called to order at 12:20 p.m. Attendance was called and it was confirmed that there were enough members present to form a quorum. Minutes from the June 13, 2013 were read and approved by the Board.

Old Business

Agriculture Services Center – Mr. Parlett abstained from any discussion and votes in regards to the Agriculture Services Center. Mr. Young briefed the Board that there is currently a draft Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) that will be presented to the Soil Conservation District Board. After the MOU is signed the funds will be released to the Soil Conservation District Board to begin the build out. June 30, 2014 is the estimated competition date.

At its next meeting, the Board would like to discuss to option of the County partnering with the RC&D

New Business

Mr. Phil Shire briefed the Board about a text amendment proposal that was submitted to the Board of County Commissioners asking for administrative authority to subdivide a dwelling from a lot with 2 or more dwellings. At the time these dwellings were created there was no zoning enforced/created meaning these dwellings were constructed legally at the time however now they do not meet density requirements according to today's zoning. This amendment will be heard before the Planning Commission on August 12th. The Board would like to wait until

after the Planning Commission Public Hearing and then vote at its next meeting to take a stance on this issue and send a letter to the Board of County Commissioners. The Board would also like to have confirmation that the dwellings plus 1 acre surrounding them are currently assessed as residential.

Mr. Shire and Mr. Young briefed the Board on the "Rain Tax" or Strom Water Management Fee – this is a tax on impervious surface. St. Mary's County must apply for a MS4 Permit however the Maryland Department of Environment (MDE) will not be able to work with the County until some time after 2015. The value/cost of this tax is assessed by each County individually. There was a question about storm water management needed for agriculture buildings – according to MDE, if the structure is open to the public then it is not considered agricultural however commercial – there is statewide resistance to this because of the push for growing agritourism businesses. Mr. Young will draft a letter to the State to ask for a definition of an agriculture structure should be – this Board feels that if a property has an agriculture tax assessment then its buildings should be exempt. Also there should be consideration for those properties using best management practices.

Sub-Committee Reports

Farmers Markets Sub-Committee

Members – Joseph Wood (Chairman), James Moore (Vice Chair), David Paulk
No update at this time. Mr. Moore would like to have farmers who sell at the markets come to a
future meeting to provide insight.

Agricultural Land Preservation Advisory Board

Members – James Spence (Chairman), James Moore (Vice Chair), Adam Dyson, David Paulk, Joseph Wood

No update at this time.

Agricultural Reconciliation Committee

Members – James Moore (Chairman), Michael Sirk (Vice Chair), Phil Dorsey, Adam Dyson, & James "Bubby" Norris

Mr. Moore was appointed as Chairman of the Agricultural Reconciliation Committee.

Open Comment

The Board would like membership applications sent to Mr. Richard Hayden and Mr. Barry Roache.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at approximately 2:00 p.m. The next meeting will be held on Thursday, September 12, 2013 at noon in the Conference Room of the Agriculture Services Center.